Sign in to follow this  
BwareDWare94

Weekly Discussion Topic: May 11-17 (Depression)

Touching Base with Sad Face  

10 members have voted

1. 1. Have you ever experienced some level of depression?

• Yes. I think we all do, but it affects people differently.
    • I think so, but I snapped out of it.
    • I'm not sure. Nothing that's lasted, anyway.
    • No. I've been fortunate, in that regard.
  2. 2. Is Depression over-diagnosed?

• Yes. We're too willing to let people depend on pills.
    • Possibly, but I'm no expert.
    • I don't think so--it's pretty easy to identify.
    • No. If people need some kind of help, give it to them.
  3. 3. Do you tolerate depression when you think it's being used as a ploy for attention?

• Yes. If they say it, or act it, people need to pay attention and make sure they're OK.
    • Usually, but there are times when I just can't deal with it.
    • Depends on the individual. It sounds awful, but I have to care deeply about someone to act.
    • No. I've seen too many instances where it was just someone seeking attention.

This week's topic is Depression. Feel free to discuss any experiences you've had with the varying degrees of depression, in your lives. I'm making a change to the threads, this week. I'll post my experiences and thoughts, later on. I've had a feeling that my tl;dr posts at the beginning of these threads has turned people away.

FTR, the votes aren't public this week as it's a touchy subject.

Edited by BwareDWare94

So this one I can speak to both as a friend and as a victim.

One of my friends called me about two months back. I was coming back from meeting with friends. Something immediately seemed off. She is normally cheerful and she seemed to want to reminiscence about old stories with sad little laughs inbetween. You'd have to know her to understand how ridiculously odd this was. She then said goodbye and hung up the phone.